The Mess Of Love

My favorite poem :)

We’ve made a great mess of love

Since we made an ideal of it.

 

The moment I swear to love a woman, a certain woman, all my life

That moment I begin to hate her.

 

The moment I even say to a woman: I love you! —

My love dies down considerably.

 

The moment love is an understood thing between us, we are sure of it,

It’s a cold egg, it isn’t love any more.

 

Love is like a flower, it must flower and fade;

If it doesn’t fade, it is not a flower,

It’s either an artificial rag blossom, or an immortelle, for the cemetery.

 

The moment the mind interferes with love, or the will fixes on it,

Or the personality assumes it as an attribute, or the ego takes possession of it,

It is not love any more, it’s just a mess.

And we’ve made a great mess of love,

mind-perverted,

will-perverted,

ego-perverted love.

 

-D. H. Lawrence

7 thoughts on “The Mess Of Love

  1. And the little prince says:
    “One should never listen to the flowers. One should simply look at them and breathe their fragrance.”
    .. Comment only makes sense if you’ve read the book I guess. He’s in love with the flower.

      1. Thanks alot :)
        I like your blog by the way, it has some deep thoughts.
        Have you seen the articles I wrote about love ?
        there are some funny ones about how women think :)

      2. Thanks again.
        I just read your May 5th post on love, agree 100%. And I know some couples who have this authentic love, it’s the most beautiful thing in the world. Will read more later, cheers bro.

Leave a Reply

